Finally!

I did it!  I have finally mustered up all my courage to start this blog I have been planning for a while.  It feels good to finally be sitting here and getting this ball rolling.  I am very excited about this for two reasons.  Not only do I believe and hope that this blog will be therapeutic for me, but I hope it helps someone else.  That is my ultimate goal.

What is this blog going to be about?

I am going to write about my experiences with depression, any knowledge I may have on the matter, and anything else related.  One day I might write about a moment in my past, the next may be some sites that are helpful and a wealth of information.

Why am I doing this?

I have been dealing with depression for a number of years, but it did not become really noticeable and life changing until after my daughter was born four years ago.  I have become increasingly aware of my disorder, and because of that I have wanted to write it out.  I believe that in doing so, it can be a form of release for my mind.  I might also learn a thing or two about myself, and/or this disorder.  I am also hoping that this blog will be worthy of passing along to someone you may know that deals with some form of depression or mood disorder.  If even one person reads this blog and comes away with a sense of hope and support, then this is worth it.

Depression is rough.  Very rough.  My experiences may not be the worst someone has ever dealt with, but to me and my family it is.  I have just recently learned that it is not something that should be dealt with alone.  I was not the only person in this world to deal with it, and I wont be the last.  If you are dealing with depression, please know you are not alone.  We can and will work through this together.

“A dream you dream alone is only a dream. A dream you dream together is reality.”  ~John Lennon

3 thoughts on “Finally!

  1. I commend you for your courage in creating this blog to tackle this subject. Depression, among other disorders, runs in my family on both sides and I too struggle with it on a near daily basis. While I continue to avoid seeking medical help for all the reasons I am sure you are familiar with I am surrounded by the best friends a person could ask for. And kittens.

Leave a Reply

