Where is my head?

Where did my head go?  I am sure I am not the only one who feels that way.  I am not sure if it’s related or not, but I have read conflicting materials on whether or not it’s the depression.  However, since my daughter was born and I started dealing with depression, I have had a terrible time remembering things, concentrating, and finding joy in things I once loved.

I used to love to read.  Now, I can get maybe 10-15 pages in before I am done and looking for something else, or I read pages and pages but do not remember anything about it because my mind was wandering.  This blog is a pain to write when kiddo is around playing,  the TV is on, a fly is buzzing around, or the clock seems like it’s ticking faster than normal.

I used to have an awesome memory.  For a lot of things, I still do.  For instance, I can remember how to get to places I haven’t been to in years.  Now, I have never been able to tell someone those directions, but I can get you there if i drive you.  These days it seems like I can’t remember when things are going to happen until right before they do, like birthdays or appointments.  Even if I write something down to remember, I end up forgetting where I wrote it down at.

I am preparing to start taking college courses again.  As I have said in previous posts, I had gone to college and accumulated over 120 credit hours.  I do not know what I am going to do with my degree, but I am majoring in Geology with a minor in Sociology.  How am I going to concentrate long enough to pull this off?  Stay tuned to find out.

4 thoughts on “Where is my head?

  1. My understanding is it is partly the “mommy brain syndrome” where your brain makes you forget all the crappy bits of being a mommy so you’ll be willing to do it again, only dragging out past the time when it should have ended. Also, depression does cause that lack of focus and poor memory.

Leave a Reply

