My Bucket List

Inspiration has been somewhat easy to come by as of late.  I have been able to use my own experiences to continue writing, which has made this emotional and inspirational.  Not just for myself, but other women have told me the same thing.  Today, my inspiration comes from my latest blog subscriber, Marcia.  Upon reading her blog this morning, I came across an entry where she has created her very own bucket list!  Since I am on a path to bettering myself, and focusing on the positive, I have decided to follow in her footsteps, and create my own.

A bucket list is essentially a list of things you would like to do or accomplish before you die.  While it may seem kind of morbid, I like to think of it as motivational.  It helps me focus on the positive by thinking of the things that are important to me, and it gives me something to do with my life.  You know, because I haven’t had that before, or something.  Now, Marcia’s is 101 items long, and I am not sure I can come up with that many.  I am definitely going to try!

1.  Graduate with a Bachelors in Social Psychology

2.  Graduate with at least a 3.5 GPA

3.  Graduate with a Masters in Social Work

4.  Work as a therapist, or help those in need

5.  Volunteer for a non-profit, and travel to places in this world to help with aid

6.  Travel to all the National Parks in the continental US in a RV

7.  Write a children’s book

8.  Meet Morgan Freeman

9.  Buy a house

10.  Visit Auschwitz

11.  Visit other concentration camps

12.  Visit the National Holocaust Museum

13.  Visit Washington DC

14.  Visit Banff, Canada for our 10th wedding anniversary

15.  Move to Canada, near Calgary

16.  Take a National Geographic cruise to Antarctica

17.  Visit NYC

18.  Travel Europe

19.  Visit places in Europe with rich history

20.  Create a bucket list

21.  Visit Germany to visit with family…again

22.  Swim with dolphins

23.  Swim with sharks (in a cage, of course)

24.  Camp at Yosemite National Park

25.  Go to BlogHer just once

26.  Go deep-sea fishing

27.  Go fishing on a quiet lake

28.  Climb to the top of Vernal Falls in Yosemite without stopping every 5 steps

29.  Travel to New Zealand

30.  Travel to space

31.  Retire with my husband in Banff, Canada

32.  Send my daughter off to college

33.  Ride in a hot air balloon

34.  See the Northern Lights

35.  Stand at the Northern most point of the earth

36.  Stand at the Southern most point of the earth

37.  See a whale in the ocean

38.  Go to Oktoberfest in Germany

39.  Watch a movie in a movie theater without panic or fear

40.  Keep this blog going for at least a year

41.  March in a Gay Pride parade

42.  March in a civil rights movement for Gay rights  (I wish we didn’t have to have these anymore)

43.  Provide meals at a shelter

44.  Meet Elie Wiesel

45.  Be a mentor

46.  Drive the entire length of Route 66

47.  Bring food and other aid to children in Africa

48.  Help one family get back on their feet

49.  Watch all 8 Harry Potter movies in one long marathon

50.  Feel normal again

51.  Have a picnic on the top of a mountain

52.  Tell my ex’s thank you for being jerks.  I would not be me without that.

53.  Write an article on my experience with depression for a magazine or newspaper

54.  Learn to knit

55.  Walk in an Alzheimer’s Association charity walk

56.  Win an award for my work…in something.

57.  Snorkel off of Okinawa Island

58.  Wear a pea coat in London

59.  Go to an opera

60.  Go to a ballet

61.  Go sledding

62.  Watch a movie in Central Park

63.  Kiss my husband under mistletoe

64.  Reach the age of 100

65.  Send a message on a balloon, and start a correspondence

66.  Stand on a glacier

67.  See a polar bear in the wild…from a distance

68.  See a giraffe in the wild

69.  See an elephant in the wild

70.  Get married by an Elvis impersonator

71.  See the seven wonders of the world, or more.

72.  Watch a women’s soccer game at the Olympics

73.  Watch a softball game at the Olympics

74.  Go to Disneyland Paris

75.  Go to Tokyo Disneyland

76.  Visit Tokyo at night

77.  Run a 5k

78.  Adopt a puppy

79.  Fly first class

80.  Have the confidence to play Just Dance 2 in front of my husband

81.  Be in a flash mob

82.  Ride a subway

83.  Have my name in the Guinness World Records

84.  Try geocaching

85.  Find a dinosaur fossil

86.  Get a full back tattoo

87.  My daughter telling me she is proud of me

88.  Join the mile high club

89.  Ride in a canoe or kayak

90.  Learn to speak German again

91.  Own a telescope

92.  Ride a Segway

93.  Walk across the San Fransisco bridge

94.  Blow something up on Mythbusters

95.  Visit Neuschwanstein Castle

96.  Ride a train to Alaska

97.  Have a six-pack of abs, or maybe just two.

98.  Visit the Redwoods in Northern California

99.  Hike to the top of Half-Dome in Yosemite

100.  Visit the Berlin Wall

101.  Help someone feel like they are worth it

 

 

16 thoughts on “My Bucket List

  1. Beautiful Nicole. Really. You can tell a lot about a person when they make their bucket list. I really hope you get to travel and help many in need. I’ve actually been trying to find a way and the time to get back to Zambia to volunteer. I really miss the orphanage I was working with and the kids. I feel like I left part of my heart there. My only hold up, is my own kid. I don’t want to leave him here and it would be too expensive to take him with… especially if I’m volunteering and crashing at my friends places. I’m going to go back though. Hopefully in less than 24 months. Maybe we’ll make the trek together.

  2. That is a rather large bucket list, if you accomplish a fraction of these you will be doing far more than most people. Consider the average African who never leaves the village they are born.

    “Friendship Is Universal”

  3. At least some of these are very attainable! I’m surprised you haven’t kissed your husband under mistletoe!

    By the way, I sent you a Twitter message but you obviously didn’t notice as you are continuing your forum discussion with Apostle Jack. Check out my blog and read ‘A discussion with a prophet of God’ and all will become clear. 😉

  4. I adore your list! There are so many wonderful things that you want to do, and I agree it must be very motivational. I’d heartily recommend number 81- I was in the zombie walk responding to Leicester city council’s unpreparedness for a zombie attack. It was one of the best days ever! Leicester’s an awesome city for flash mobs, they’ve had pillow fights with around 100 people that have lasted for less than a minute, leaving all the people who were watching totally stunned.

    I know you have loads more on that list, but I just thought I’d share some of my own experiences with the one that jumped out at me! Good luck with it all anyway 🙂

  5. Okay…so I cried reading your bucket list lol. It’s an awesome one, and I can in my mind’s eye see you doing ALL of those things! 🙂 Your blog is so inspirational…I love reading it, and have subbed to it so I get updates every time you post! Yay! 🙂 You are such an awesome person Nicole. And I’ll never forget that you were the one who extended your hand to me-a stranger-to stay in your home with you before my then fiance, now husband, came home from Iraq. 🙂 Everything you did in that time that I was there, meant the world to me-to us. And we thank you for it. 🙂 Great things are out there for you-of that I am sure! And I highly recommend Neuschwanstein Castle…it’s incredible! 🙂 And I too want to try geocaching! I wish I lived closer!!!

    • You made me tear up. You weren’t that big of a stranger, we talked throughout the deployment, and got to know each other. Plus, Michael knew Pete, so I was more than happy to help you guys out. You would have done it for me. That’s what friends do. 🙂

  6. With any luck, BlogHer will be in London one year and we can meet there, wearing our pea coats. From what I understand, there are massive amounts of alcohol consumed at BlogHer, so it may also be the perfect time to get that full back tattoo. 🙂

    Great list!

Leave a Reply

