Happiness is…

… My daughter jumping into MY arms instead of husband’s after her first sleepover.

That’s right, I am gushing over kiddo choosing me to run to instead of husband.  It was a moment I do not get often, so I relished in it.

 

… An adult conversation between two people who do not always agree, but respect and love each other enough to carry on a fantastic discussion.

Husband and I went on our first date in about a year, and we had a great conversation at dinner.  I miss those conversations.  You know, the kind where it’s about a serious topic dealing with society, and neither usually agree, but it was wonderful anyway.  On top of that, we actually agreed!

 

… Sleeping in.

I do not think this needs an explanation.

 

… The moment you realize you actually feel like yourself, even if it’s a more tired version.

I had that moment this weekend, yesterday actually.  I’m tired, and always seem to be, but I realized I felt normal again.  I was walking into the kitchen to get something to drink, and something lit up in my head.  This is what I am supposed to feel like!  I still have moments where I’m sad and angry, but it’s not as often anymore.  I have some things I need to work on, like the laziness I have developed over the last four years, but I feel good.  I haven’t been able to say that in a long time.

 

What is happiness for you?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Happiness is…

  1. Yay!!! Great list, reminds me of the gratitude lists I make.

    Loving that you went on your date night!! Way to go!!

    P.S.

    I secretly love that my kids get to make that happy “.fuss” over me now with my being gone more recently…..

  2. Great list. I think happiness for me is finding a little peace. Things have been kind of crazy for awhile, but now everyone in our family is doing well. My son is adjusting to high school, my wife is doing good in school, My writing is going good, and my dog and two cats are happy and healthy. We all need moments of peace before all heck breaks loose again.

Leave a Reply

