The Misinformation of PPD

As many of you know, unless this is your first time reading my blog, I have suffered and survived Postpartum Depression.  It was a long, hard fight, but I made it.  That’s not to say I am 100% better, but I am far from the darkness I once found myself in. 

I’m not the only woman to suffer from this.  I have friends who are suffering, and have suffered through it.  There are millions of women in this world who are inflicted with this serious illness.  Yes, it is a serious mental illness.  It controls your mind, and can make you sad, angry, or both.  So much so that it takes over who you are, and your daily life.  It can get so deep into you that you are not you, and the thoughts of harming yourself or your children can feel so real, so vivid.  It can even get so deep that you try to end your own life, and many women have because of PPD.

It can be treated!  It needs to be treated in order to move through.  Not everyone can make it through without some kind of medical intervention.  There are so many options out there for treatment.  I eventually chose to go the way of medications and therapy.  This blog has helped me too.  There are women who choose alternative medicine, and works for them.  The treatment options are out there.  The problem comes in when misinformation about what PPD is, and how to treat/prevent it come into play.

Recently, an article was written by a woman named Sheryl Paul, and it was about making the transition into motherhood go as smoothly as possible.  The problem is at one point she mentions that doing a simple 10 minute 3-step process can help you ward of PPD.  Really?  Why didn’t I know that before?!

Because not everyone can ward of PPD with some good, positive thoughts.  Trust me, I tried.  I tried talking myself out of it.  I tried being positive, and thinking happy thoughts.  Maybe I was just doing it wrong.

No, it’s because PPD is a serious illness that needs to be treated with proper medical care.  It can’t be wished away.

If you’re one of those women who believe repeating happy thoughts got you out of it, or kept you from it, great!  However, the large majority of women cannot do this.

You are not a failure if you try, and still suffer from PPD.

You can still get help through proper medical care.

You can make it through the darkness.

I think information like Mrs. Paul shared with her readers needs to have a tag on it that it doesn’t work for everyone.  There is nothing wrong with trying, but I know how I felt when it didn’t work for me.  I felt like a failure, and unworthy of anything.  I felt like I was just insane, and an angry, miserable person.

You are not those dark thoughts.  You are not that angry, miserable woman.  It’s Postpartum Depression taking control of you.  PPD is something you can beat.  It takes time, and it wont be easy, but you can do it.  Seek proper treatment if you find yourself there, surrounded by the darkness.

There is a light.  I promise, you will find it one day.  Just keep fighting.

 

Leave a Reply

