Happy Thanksgiving!

someecards.com - May your Thanksgiving dinner conversation be more coherent than a Republican presidential debate
Hahahaha, I had to go there

Happy Thanksgiving!

I realize Canada has already celebrated Thanksgiving, and I am unsure if anyone else in the world celebrates this at any time.  It doesn’t really matter, because everyone should be thankful everyday for what they have, and sometimes don’t have.

What I am thankful for:

  • My husband’s patience.  He puts up with a lot of crap, both at work and at home.  At home, he has been patient through my PPD experience the last few years, and has stood by me and held my hand through it all.  I’m very lucky.
  • My daughter, every bit of her.  She still showers me with love, even though I have not always been the most loving of people the last few years.  She is my soul mate, and has saved me from myself a number of times.  She makes me laugh, and is such a bright star.  I can’t wait to see who she becomes as she grows older.
  • My parents knowing something was wrong, and helping me when Michael left.  I think they knew something was wrong with me, and they helped me while we waited for a home, no questions asked.  I wasn’t the most pleasant of house guests, I am sure, and spent most nights alone in the room kiddo and I were sleeping in.  They never pushed me, or got mad at me.  They just loved me and supported me.
  • My friends, both in real life and on the internet.  They are so supportive, and always do their best to encourage me, and support me.  My real life friends know when I need time with them, and when I need it alone.  They made me feel loved and special.  My internet friends know when to send me love through the phone or computer, and are always so kind.  I can’t recall a time in my life when I have had so much love coming from so many people.
  • My husbands job.  It allows me the opportunity to stay at home with kiddo, and go to school.  It may take my husband away from me for months and months, but the benefits we receive, and the friends I have made are unmatched.
  • My PPD.  That may sound strange, as it was hell the last four years.  However, I think it has made me a much stronger person, and much more aware of who I am, and what I can do.
  • My life.  I never had a plan, but the thought of ending my life was there for some time.  I am glad I never came up with a plan, and continued to fight for my life, and my family.  We are all much better for it now.

What are you thankful for?  Everyone should have something, so share it with us.  It feels good to reflect on these things that make us happy, and that we are grateful for.

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Funny, I find that my PPD experience has taught me so much too. While I rather have not had the experience, I do find the good in it.
    I’m thankful for blogs like yours that advocate for Moms and helps to encourage them.
    Happy Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

